Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.
Maps5

International Climate Crisis Plays: Akhrot by Swati Simha

Royal Court Theatre

 A series of new short plays written by emerging international writers.

See times and book tickets

A theatre director is appointed by the State to create a street play for the local community about energy conservation. But in a town which has only had electricity for a decade, a struggle breaks out over what the message of the play should be.


International Climate Crisis Plays
The Royal Court Theatre returns to the Edinburgh International Festival for a major new residency that will culminate in a week of lunchtime performances of new short plays written by some of the most significant international new voices.

The five writers from Brazil, China, India, South Africa and Syria will share urgent perspectives from across the world on the global climate crisis through plays specially commissioned to premiere at the festival.

Swati Simha (India)
Swati is a playwright and research scholar based in New Delhi. She received her Masters from Shanghai Theatre Academy, China and is currently pursuing a PhD at the Centre for Comparative Politics and Political Theory at Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi. She won the Toto Award for creative writing in 2018. She was one of the playwrights commissioned for the B!rth Festival at Royal Exchange, Manchester. Her play Flypaper Trap was written under the mentorship of Royal Court Theatre at the Writer’s Bloc residency.


Alongside to the performances, the writers will spend two weeks forging new relationships with other international artists in Edinburgh and collaborators from across the UK.

Each artist’s residency will also involve a visit to another partner organisation across the UK who has supported the development of their work. These include HighTide Festival, Leeds Playhouse, Live Theatre in Newcastle and the Royal Exchange Theatre Manchester.

This project is curated in partnership with and supported by the British Council.

Swati Simha Playwright
Royal Court Theatre


More information about some of the artists:

Royal Court Theatre
Website | Twitter | Facebook

17 August 2019

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters


Funded through the PLACE Programme, a partnership between the Edinburgh Festivals and

You might also be interested in

International Climate Crisis Plays: Climate Crisis Killjoy Quiz by Luanda Casella

Royal Court Theatre

 A series of new short plays written by emerging international writers.

16 August 2019

Call and Response: Osoyebon

A work in progress by Anonymous / Fuel

A series of performances to explore the ideas in You Are Here and encourage audiences to join the conversation. 

22-24 August 2019

Call and Response: SUMMIT

Andy Smith / Fuel

A series of performances to explore the ideas in You Are Here and encourage audiences to join the conversation. 

8-10 August 2019

Call and Response: The Happy Tragedy of Being Woke

A work in progress by Clint Dyer and Simon McBurney / Complicité

A series of performances to explore the ideas in You Are Here and encourage audiences to join the conversation. 

15-17 August 2019