Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. Fill 1 Created with Sketch.

The Rosary Sonatas: Part II

The Sorrowful Mysteries

One of the most extraordinary collections of music ever composed, full of fearsome virtuosity and dazzling expressiveness. The second of three concerts.

Famed for both the power and the poetry of her period performances, British violinist Rachel Podger has led many of the world’s finest early music ensembles. She was last heard to great acclaim with her own ensemble Brecon Baroque in Mozart at the 2017 International Festival. 

In three intimate International Festival recitals, in the historic surroundings of St Cecilia’s Hall – Scotland’s oldest purpose-built concert venue – Podger explores one of the most extraordinary collections of music ever composed: Biber’s mystical Rosary Sonatas.

Comprising 15 short musical meditations on moments in the lives of Christ and the Virgin Mary, this is music of fearsome virtuosity and dazzling expressiveness, marking an intense spiritual journey for players and listeners alike.

In this second concert, Podger and her international colleagues survey the darkest, most agonising music in the collection – and also its most thrillingly virtuosic. The five ‘Sorrowful Mysteries’ take us from the Last Supper to the Crucifixion itself.

Rachel Podger Violin
Marcin Świątkiewicz Harpsichord & Chamber Organ
Daniele Caminiti Theorbo

Biber The Rosary Sonatas

Part 2: The Sorrowful Mysteries
6 The Agony in the Garden
7 The Scourging
8 The Crowning with Thorns
9 The Carrying of the Cross
10 The Crucifixion

More information about some of the artists:

Rachel Podger Twitter | Instagram

Marcin Świątkiewicz Facebook | Instagram

8 August 2019

  • 1hr approx. (no interval)
  • £27

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2020 programme will be announced in the spring.

With thanks to our supporters

Festival Partners

Dr. George Sypert and Dr. Joy Arpin

Principal Supporter