Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. Fill 1 Created with Sketch.

San Francisco Symphony 02

Tchaikovsky Symphony No 5

Featuring Yuja Wang on piano.

Michael Tilson Thomas Conductor

Yuja Wang Piano

Ives ‘Decoration Day’ from New England Holidays
Beethoven Piano Concerto No 4
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 5

Young Chinese pianist Yuja Wang has been widely celebrated for her poetic, penetrating performances that balance clarity, detail and fearsome power. She’s the soloist in the San Francisco Symphony’s second Festival concert under Michael Tilson Thomas, performing the most touchingly lyrical of Beethoven’s piano concertos, whose simple melodiousness is the ideal match for her subtle, nuanced playing.

Tchaikovsky charts a dramatic struggle against fate in his powerful Fifth Symphony, which includes some of his most rousing, emotional music, and draws on the orchestra’s renowned expressive power and tonal brilliance. Tilson Thomas opens the concert with the atmospheric American celebration of Ives’s Decoration Day.

San Francisco Symphony

Michael Tilson Thomas Conductor

Yuja Wang Piano

Ives ‘Decoration Day’ from New England Holidays
Beethoven Piano Concerto No 4
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 5


Find out more about San Francisco Symphony

Twitter: @sfsymphony

Facebook: sfsymphony


Find out more about Michael Tilson Thomas

Twitter: @mtilsonthomas

Facebook: MichaelTilsonThomas


Find out more about Yuja Wang

Twitter: @YujaWang

28 August 2015

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2020 programme will be announced in the spring.