Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Llŷr Williams

A personal selection of Grieg, Liszt and a rarely heard example of Wagner’s own piano music.

See times and book tickets

Grieg Lyric Pieces (selection)
Wagner (tr. Liszt) Transcriptions from Rienzi, Der fliegende Holländer, Tannhäuser & Tristan und Isolde 
Wagner Sonata for the Book of Mrs. M.W

Commanding, provocative and fearlessly intelligent, remarkable Welsh pianist Llŷr Williams can dazzle and transport listeners with his astonishingly intense, captivating playing. Revered especially for his bracingly fresh insights into Beethoven, he brings a tonal finesse and deep sense of thoughtfulness to his wide repertoire of music.

Williams opens his recital with the charming musical picture-painting of a selection from Grieg’s Lyric Pieces.

Williams concludes his glittering recital with some of Liszt’s piano transcriptions of music from Wagner’s operas, as breathtakingly virtuosic as they are spiritually radiant. He also includes a rarely heard example of Wagner’s own piano music: the passionate Sonata written for his then-lover, Mathilde Wesendonck.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Llŷr Williams Piano

Grieg Lyric Pieces (selection)
Wagner (tr. Liszt) Transcriptions from Rienzi, Der fliegende Holländer, Tannhäuser & Tristan und Isolde
Wagner Sonata for the Book of Mrs. M.W


More information about the artist:

Llŷr Williams
Facebook

9 August 2019

Centre stalls
£35
Rear stalls
£30 £15 £11
Side stalls
£30 £25 £21 £11
Centre gallery
£35 £30 £25
Side gallery
£25 £15 £11
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
Senior citizens (limited availability)
30% off
Arts workers employed within Scotland (limited availability)
30% off
Registered unemployed (limited availability)
30% off
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

You might also be interested in

Nash Ensemble

Two glorious chamber classics and the remarkable Fourteen Little Pictures make up the Nash Ensemble’s richly coloured recital.

17 August 2019

Steven Osborne (replacement for Beatrice Rana)

Steven Osborne takes the place of Beatrice Rana with a programme of Messiaen and Schubert.

5 August 2019

Michael Volle & Helmut Deutsch

The powerhouse German baritone performs a gloriously dramatic programme of Schubert, Mahler and Strauss.

8 August 2019

Youth Orchestra Los Angeles with Big Noise Raploch

Musicians from YOLA, Big Noise and Gustavo Dudamel invite you to a free ticketed open rehearsal. 

4 August 2019