Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Michael Volle & Helmut Deutsch

The powerhouse German baritone performs a gloriously dramatic programme of Schubert, Mahler and Strauss.

See times and book tickets

Schubert Der Taucher
Mahler Selection from Des Knaben Wunderhorn
Strauss Three Lieder from Op 87 
Mahler Selection from Rückert-Lieder 

Powerhouse German baritone Michael Volle is a star of the international opera stage, and one of today’s most exciting interpreters of Wagner, Strauss, Verdi and more. With a voice of huge strength and kaleidoscopic colour, he’s also a masterful recitalist – and performs a gloriously dramatic, romantic programme for his return to the International Festival.

Joined by regular recital partner Helmut Deutsch, a respected piano soloist in his own right, Volle explores the one-man mini-opera of medieval romance and valiant chivalry in Schubert’s gripping cliffhanger Der Taucher, alongside the blistering heroism and bawdy humour of a selection from Mahler’s Wunderhorn songs.

He closes with three opulent Lieder by Richard Strauss, and the ravishing, lyrical beauty of Mahler’s intimate Rückert-Lieder.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Michael Volle Baritone
Helmut Deutsch Piano

Schubert Der Taucher
Mahler Selection from Des Knaben Wunderhorn
Strauss Three Lieder from Op 87 
Mahler Selection from Rückert-Lieder 

More information about some of the artists:

Michael Volle
Instagram

8 August 2019

Centre stalls
£35
Rear stalls
£30 £15 £11
Side stalls
£30 £25 £21 £11
Centre gallery
£35 £30 £25
Side gallery
£25 £15 £11
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
Senior citizens (limited availability)
30% off
Arts workers employed within Scotland (limited availability)
30% off
Registered unemployed (limited availability)
30% off
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Trusts

The Peter Diamand Trust

You might also be interested in

Llŷr Williams

A personal selection of Grieg, Liszt and a rarely heard example of Wagner’s own piano music.

9 August 2019

The Sixteen

With a repertoire spanning over 500 years of music, the world-renowned choir blends resplendent vocal colour, immaculate technique and irresistible power and passion.

15 August 2019

Doric String Quartet

The first European performance of Brett Dean’s String Quartet No. 3 "Hidden Agendas" and the soaring melodies of Brahms’ powerful Second String Quintet.

20 August 2019

Maxim Emelyanychev & Principals of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

The Russian conductor and pianist is joined by the SCO’s principal players for a Romantic recital of Brahms, Dohnányi and Schumann.

12 August 2019