Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Shanghai Symphony Orchestra

Dvořák and Shostakovich

China’s premier classical ensemble are joined by the captivating US cellist.

See times and book tickets

Dvořák Cello Concerto 
Shostakovich Symphony No 5

The Shanghai Symphony Orchestra is China’s premier classical ensemble – and an orchestra of global stature. Now in its 140th anniversary year, it has toured the world extensively, praised universally for its immense energy, colour and focus.

The Orchestra’s Music Director Long Yu is a major force in Chinese music – as founder and director of festivals and ensembles across the country and as a charismatic, inspirational conductor with a flair for drama and unbridled entertainment.

They are joined by captivating US cellist Alisa Weilerstein for the melodic magnificence of Dvořák’s achingly passionate Cello Concerto. Orchestra and conductor bring the concert to a resplendent climax with the grotesque humour and rousing celebrations of Shostakovich’s powerful Fifth Symphony.

Shanghai Symphony Orchestra
Long Yu Conductor

Alisa Weilerstein Cello

Dvořák Cello Concerto 
Shostakovich Symphony No 5

19 August 2019

Grand circle
£48 £38.50
Stalls
£48 £38.50 £29
Upper circle
£27 £20 £15
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Major Sponsor

You might also be interested in

Nash Ensemble

Two glorious chamber classics and the remarkable Fourteen Little Pictures make up the Nash Ensemble’s richly coloured recital.

17 August 2019

Doric String Quartet

The first European performance of Brett Dean’s String Quartet No. 3 "Hidden Agendas" and the soaring melodies of Brahms’ powerful Second String Quintet.

20 August 2019

Cuarteto Casals

The Barcelona-based quartet open with the magical radiance of Haydn, followed by the intense emotions of Bartók and close with the grand dramas of Beethoven.

6 August 2019

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 5

The fifth in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Richard Egarr and Diego Ares.

20 August 2019