Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

The Sixteen

With a repertoire spanning over 500 years of music, the world-renowned choir blends resplendent vocal colour, immaculate technique and irresistible power and passion.

See times and book tickets

Lotti Crucifixus a 8
Melgás Popule meus — Improperia
Scarlatti Iste Confessor
Melgás Lamentações de Quinta-Feira Santa
Melgás Salve Regina 
Rebelo Panis angelicus 
Caldara Crucifixus a 16 
Scarlatti Stabat Mater a 10

With a repertoire spanning more than 500 years of music, The Sixteen under founding Director Harry Christophers blend resplendent vocal colour, immaculate technique and irresistible power and passion. 

They look to Italy and Portugal for their International Festival recital celebrating the splendours of Baroque and Renaissance polyphony. Lotti dazzles with drama in his moving Crucifixus, while Domenico Scarlatti’s Stabat Mater is a tour de force of vocal virtuosity. In between, The Sixteen delves into the rich choral opulence of Renaissance Portugal, from Melgás’s serene Lamentações de Quinta-Feira Santa to Rebelo’s sumptuous Panis Angelicus.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

The Sixteen
Harry Christophers Conductor

Lotti Crucifixus a 8
Melgás Popule meus — Improperia
Scarlatti Iste Confessor
Melgás Lamentações de Quinta-Feira Santa
Melgás Salve Regina 
Rebelo Panis angelicus 
Caldara Crucifixus a 16 
Scarlatti Stabat Mater a 10

15 August 2019

Centre stalls
£35
Rear stalls
£30 £15 £11
Side stalls
£30 £25 £21 £11
Centre gallery
£35 £30 £25
Side gallery
£25 £15 £11
Standing
£15
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Trusts

The Calateria Trust

You might also be interested in

Maxim Emelyanychev & Principals of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

The Russian conductor and pianist is joined by the SCO’s principal players for a Romantic recital of Brahms, Dohnányi and Schumann.

12 August 2019

Michael Volle & Helmut Deutsch

The powerhouse German baritone performs a gloriously dramatic programme of Schubert, Mahler and Strauss.

8 August 2019

Bach’s Multiple Concertos

The International Festival’s six-concert survey of J S Bach’s complete keyboard concertos comes to a spectacular conclusion in The Queen’s Hall.

22 August 2019

Los Angeles Philharmonic 1

Mahler: Symphony No 2 ‘Resurrection’

The exceptional orchestra launch the 2019 Usher Hall Series with one of the grandest and most gripping of symphonies.

3 August 2019