Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Sheku Kanneh-Mason & Isata Kanneh-Mason

The winner of 2016’s BBC Young Musician of the Year performs Debussy, Mendelssohn, Fauré and Lutoslawski.

See times and book tickets

Beethoven Variations in F major Op 66 
Debussy Sonata in D minor 
Lutoslawski Grave
Fauré  Élégie, Op 24
Mendelssohn Cello Sonata No 2 in D major Op 58

Sheku Kanneh-Mason is a cello sensation, winner of 2016’s BBC Young Musician of the Year, and a growing international player, admired for his rhapsodic inspirations, his astonishingly mature insights and his sheer joyful verve.

He enthralled and delighted listeners with his performance of Elgar’s Cello Concerto with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra at last year’s International Festival.

One of seven remarkable musical siblings who have been playing together for years, Sheku is joined by his older sister Isata for a rich programme of contrasts and connections. They move from the noble restraint of Debussy’s captivating, jewel-like sonata to the dramatic tensions of Mendelssohn’s potent, passionate, Bach-inspired Second Cello Sonata. In between, two poignant miniatures: Fauré’s achingly tender Élégie, and Lutoslawski’s haunting Grave.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Sheku Kanneh-Mason Cello
Isata Kanneh-Mason Piano

Beethoven Variations in F major Op 66 
Debussy Sonata in D minor
Lutoslawski Grave
Fauré  Élégie, Op 24
Mendelssohn Cello Sonata No 2 in D major Op 58

7 August 2019

Centre stalls
£35
Rear stalls
£35 £30 £15 £11
Side stalls
£35 £30 £25 £21 £11
Centre gallery
£35 £30 £25
Side gallery
£25 £15 £11
Standing
£15
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

You might also be interested in

Bach’s Multiple Concertos

The International Festival’s six-concert survey of J S Bach’s complete keyboard concertos comes to a spectacular conclusion in The Queen’s Hall.

22 August 2019

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 4

The fourth in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Christine Schornsheim and Andreas Staier.

19 August 2019

Lawrence Brownlee & Iain Burnside

The US tenor and Scottish-born pianist performs Schumann’s intimate song cycle before a programme of Poulenc, Liszt and Ginastera.

16 August 2019

Los Angeles Philharmonic 2

Yuja Wang plays John Adams

The LA Phil bring their residency to a stirring conclusion with pieces by Barber, Tchaikovsky and John Adams

4 August 2019