Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Peer Gynt & Glorious Percussion

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Thomas Dausgaard explores Grieg’s exuberant music and Glorious Percussion, an astonishing concerto by composer Sofia Gubaidulina.

See times and book tickets

Sofia Gubaidulina Glorious Percussion
Grieg Peer Gynt (selections)

Gripping drama, high adventure, quirky Nordic enchantment: Grieg’s exuberant music for Ibsen’s play Peer Gynt charts the dreams, voyages and mischief of the Norwegian scoundrel.

The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra under conductor Thomas Dausgaard explores this enthralling music, from the much-loved ‘In the Hall of the Mountain King’ to the tender ‘Morning’, by way of selections rarely heard.

Beforehand, world-renowned Scottish percussionist Colin Currie and his ensemble join the Orchestra for an exhilarating celebration of rhythm. Glorious Percussion is an astonishing concerto for percussion quintet and orchestra by Tatar/Russian composer Sofia Gubaidulina. Its spectral sounds and scintillating pulses conjure everything from spiritual reflection to raw, unrestrained energy.

This concert will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 at a future date.

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Thomas Dausgaard Conductor

Colin Currie Group Percussion

Sofia Gubaidulina Glorious Percussion
Grieg Peer Gynt (selections)

8 August 2019

Grand circle
£48 £38.50
Stalls
£48 £38.50 £29
Upper circle
£27 £20 £15
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

You might also be interested in

Orchestre de Paris 2

Britten's War Requiem

A profoundly moving plea for peace, Daniel Harding conducts Britten’s soul-searching pacifist masterpiece.

24 August 2019

Bach’s Multiple Concertos

The International Festival’s six-concert survey of J S Bach’s complete keyboard concertos comes to a spectacular conclusion in The Queen’s Hall.

22 August 2019

Christine Goerke & Malcolm Martineau

The supremely accomplished Wagnerian is joined by the Scottish pianist for this intimate recital.

14 August 2019

Beatrice Rana

A sparkling programme of virtuoso piano showpieces by Chopin, Ravel & Stravinsky. 

5 August 2019