Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Orchestre de Paris 2

Britten's War Requiem

A profoundly moving plea for peace, Daniel Harding conducts Britten’s soul-searching pacifist masterpiece.

See times and book tickets

A passionate outcry against man’s inhumanity to man, Britten’s War Requiem is a profoundly moving plea for peace, contrasting shattering anti-war poetry by Wilfred Owen with the timeless ritual of the Latin mass for the dead.

It’s also an unforgettable musical experience, overwhelmingly powerful in its roof-raising fury from gargantuan forces, yet poignantly intimate in its stories of sacrifice and loss. With an international trio of soloists and the choral might of the Edinburgh Festival Chorus, Daniel Harding concludes his Orchestre de Paris residency with Britten’s soul-searching pacifist masterpiece.

Orchestre de Paris
Daniel Harding Conductor

Albina Shagimuratova Soprano
Andrew Staples Tenor
Florian Boesch Baritone

Edinburgh Festival Chorus
Aidan Oliver Chorus Director

NYCOS National Girls Choir
Christopher Bell Chorus Director

Britten War Requiem


More information about some of the artists:

Orchestre de Paris
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Daniel Harding
Twitter

Albina Shagimuratova
Instagram

24 August 2019

Grand circle
£50 £42
Stalls
£50 £42 £34
Upper circle
£28 £22 £16
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Festival Partner

The Pirie Rankin Charitable Trust

You might also be interested in

Orchestre de Paris 1

Berlioz and Beethoven

Berlioz’s colourful, Byron-inspired tour of Italy and Beethoven’s radiant musical tribute to the natural world.

23 August 2019

Doric String Quartet

The first European performance of Brett Dean’s String Quartet No. 3 "Hidden Agendas" and the soaring melodies of Brahms’ powerful Second String Quintet.

20 August 2019

Götterdämmerung

Royal Scottish National Orchestra / Sir Andrew Davis

The fourth and final opera in the Ring cycle is its grandest, as the gods themselves face their doom. 

25 August 2019

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 3

The third in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Masato Suzuki.

16 August 2019