Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.
Neneh Cherry © Wolfgang Tillmans 3 Photo: Wolfgang Tillmans

Neneh Cherry

The Swedish singer, rapper and audacious 80s icon makes her International Festival debut.

See times and book tickets

The Swedish singer, rapper and audacious 80s icon Neneh Cherry makes her International Festival debut to perform songs from her three-decade career. Her classic debut album Raw Like Sushi fused elements from rap, pop, trip-hop, dance and R&B with remixed synths and woozy drum machines. Its lead single ‘Buffalo Stance’ became a huge international hit and earned her a Brit Award for International Solo Artist –she melted the statue and turned it into jewellery. An influential musician and political performer, her songs examine issues as diverse as the refugee crisis, abortion, gun violence and the rise of the far right. Her fifth solo album Broken Politics, released in 2018 and produced by Four Tet, took a cerebral lo-fi approach, reinvigorating her song writing and signalling a fresh direction for an ever-changing artist.

With support from Joseph Malik.

Doors Open 7.00pm
Joseph Malik 8.00pm
Neneh Cherry 9.00pm

Please note these times are approximate and subject to change.

Doors open
7.00pm
Start time
This concert will begin at 8.00pm with support from Joseph Malik

Neneh Cherry
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

Joseph Malik

10 August 2019

All tickets
£30
People with access needs
Free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Contemporary Music in association with

Audio Partner

Lighting Partner

Temporary Power Supporter

You might also be interested in

Amadou & Mariam + Blind Boys of Alabama

From Bamako to Birmingham

Mali and the American South come together in this compelling collaboration between two of today’s greatest world music groups.

7 August 2019

Sharon Van Etten

Emotionally raw harmonic melodies abound as the American songwriter comes to Leith Theatre.

21 August 2019

Anna Calvi

Expect thundering guitars, dramatic dreamscapes and operatic vocals in Anna Calvi’s return to the International Festival.

11 August 2019

Villagers

Intricate songcraft, virtuoso fingerpicking and ear-catching melodic electronica combine in Villagers' astonishing music. 

15 August 2019