Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. Fill 1 Created with Sketch.


The Finnish string quartet makes its International Festival debut, with a recital of surging emotion.

Fanny Mendelssohn Quartet
Kaija Saariaho Terra memoria
Schumann String Quartet No 3

Zesty, stylish playing; snappy, bracing interpretations. As its name suggests, Finnish string quartet Meta4 takes a fresh, sometimes unconventional approach to chamber music, but its passion, flair and breathtaking vitality has won it international prizes and global acclaim.

For their International Festival debut, the Meta4 players present a recital of surging emotions. Schumann’s final quartet hints at the composer’s mental fragility in its contrasts of heartrending tenderness and dramatic turmoil. The deeply personal quartet by Fanny Mendelssohn, sister of Felix and long side-lined despite her remarkable musical achievements, is full of haunting lyricism. Completing the all-female first half are the exquisite spectral colours of the meditative, minutely nuanced Terra memoria by the players’ compatriot Kaija Saariaho.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.


Fanny Mendelssohn Quartet
Kaija Saariaho Terra memoria
Schumann String Quartet No 3

More information about the artists:

Website | Facebook | Twitter


13 August 2019

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2020 programme will be announced in the spring.

With thanks to our supporters

Supported to celebrate the life of

John Mackenzie Calder (1927—2018)