Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

META4

The Finnish string quartet makes its International Festival debut, with a recital of surging emotion.

See times and book tickets

Fanny Mendelssohn Quartet
Kaija Saariaho Terra memoria
Schumann String Quartet No 3

Zesty, stylish playing; snappy, bracing interpretations. As its name suggests, Finnish string quartet Meta4 takes a fresh, sometimes unconventional approach to chamber music, but its passion, flair and breathtaking vitality has won it international prizes and global acclaim.

For their International Festival debut, the Meta4 players present a recital of surging emotions. Schumann’s final quartet hints at the composer’s mental fragility in its contrasts of heartrending tenderness and dramatic turmoil. The deeply personal quartet by Fanny Mendelssohn, sister of Felix and long side-lined despite her remarkable musical achievements, is full of haunting lyricism. Completing the all-female first half are the exquisite spectral colours of the meditative, minutely nuanced Terra memoria by the players’ compatriot Kaija Saariaho.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Meta4

Fanny Mendelssohn Quartet
Kaija Saariaho Terra memoria
Schumann String Quartet No 3


More information about the artists:

Meta4
Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

13 August 2019

Centre stalls
£35
Rear stalls
£30 £15 £11
Side stalls
£30 £25 £21 £11
Centre gallery
£35 £30 £25
Side gallery
£25 £15 £11
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Supported to celebrate the life of

John Mackenzie Calder (1927—2018)

You might also be interested in

Aberdeen Standard Investments Opening Event: LA Phil at Tynecastle

Free Outdoor Event

The LA Phil play music from the Golden Age of Hollywood by Korngold, Herrmann, Waxman and a selection by John Williams.

2 August 2019

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 4

The fourth in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Christine Schornsheim and Andreas Staier.

19 August 2019

Royal Scottish National Orchestra

Edward Gardner conducts Strauss and MacMillan

Two immensely powerful reflections on our existence, performed by a celebrated International Festival music partnership.

10 August 2019

The Rosary Sonatas: Part II

The Sorrowful Mysteries

One of the most extraordinary collections of music ever composed, full of fearsome virtuosity and dazzling expressiveness. The second of three concerts.

8 August 2019