Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.
Marcel Rami Khalife Featuring Aymeric Westrich

Marcel Khalife & Rami Khalife

featuring Aymeric Westrich

The legendary singer, composer, oud player and folk hero Marcel Khalife makes his Scottish debut at the Edinburgh International Festival.

See times and book tickets

Dubbed the Bob Dylan of the Arabic world, legendary singer, composer, oud player and folk hero Marcel Khalife is a musical freedom fighter, a global ambassador for his Lebanese heritage and a pioneering innovator of Arabic musical traditions.

From protest songs and political ballads to bewitching improvisations of an extraordinary spiritual intensity, his powerful, poetic music defies categorisation. He has been a vital presence in Arabic and world music, and has campaigned for artistic and humanitarian causes, since the 1970s. In 2005 was named a UNESCO Artist for Peace.

For this concert of intimate reflection and high-energy rhythm, he is joined by his eldest son Rami Khalife, a classically trained pianist and composer, and regular collaborator with his father, as well as virtuoso percussionist Aymeric Westrich. Together the trio perform songs from Marcel Khalife’s decades-long catalogue, as well as new compositions fusing classical, electronic and dance music by Rami Khalife.

Part of You Are Here
Start time
This concert will begin at 8pm with no support act

Marcel Khalife
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

Rami Khalife
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

Aymeric Westrich
Instagram

11 August 2019

Grand circle
£34 £26
Stalls
£34 £26 £20
Upper circle
£20 £16 £14
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Contemporary Music in association with


Funded through the PLACE Programme, a partnership between the Edinburgh Festivals and

You might also be interested in

Efterklang

Returning from a six-year hiatus the Danish indie rock group make their International Festival debut at Leith Theatre

23 August 2019

Connan Mockasin

The Kiwi multi-instrumentalist psych-popper’s Bostyn ’n Dobsyn project comes to Leith Theatre.

20 August 2019

Amadou & Mariam + Blind Boys of Alabama

From Bamako to Birmingham

Mali and the American South come together in this compelling collaboration between two of today’s greatest world music groups.

7 August 2019

Sharon Van Etten

Emotionally raw harmonic melodies abound as the American songwriter comes to Leith Theatre.

21 August 2019