Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Christiane Karg & Gerold Huber

The fast-rising international star of Covent Garden, La Scala and Glyndebourne, performs an all-Schubert programme.

See times and book tickets

Schubert Lieder

Bavarian-born Christiane Karg is one of today’s most sought-after lyric sopranos, a fast-rising international star of Covent Garden, La Scala and Glyndebourne, among many other prestigious opera houses. With a sensuous, liquid, gloriously expressive voice, Karg is also possessed of rare musical insights in her performances of wonder and revelation.

Alongside German pianist Gerold Huber, her regular recital partner, Karg performs an all-Schubert programme. She begins with the noble restraint of songs on classical antiquity, including the serene radiance of Ganymed and the vivid Klage der Ceres, almost a miniature opera in its retelling of the myth of Persephone.

Karg completes her broad-ranging recital with four deeply moving Mignon songs, and the sparkling sunlight and warmth of Schubert’s rarely heard Italian songs, including La pastorella al prato and Vedi quanto adoro.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Christiane Karg Soprano
Gerold Huber Piano

Schubert Lieder


More information about some of the artists:

Christiane Karg
Facebook

21 August 2019

Centre stalls
£35
Rear stalls
£30 £15 £11
Side stalls
£30 £25 £21 £11
Centre gallery
£35 £30 £25
Side gallery
£25 £15 £11
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
Senior citizens (limited availability)
30% off
Arts workers employed within Scotland (limited availability)
30% off
Registered unemployed (limited availability)
30% off
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Benefactor

Brenda Rennie

You might also be interested in

London Symphony Orchestra

Sir Simon Rattle conducts Adams and Rachmaninov

A pair of deeply stirring, richly coloured works, a love song to the late Romantic full of surreal imagery, sensual ecstasy and explosive energy.

21 August 2019

Angela Hewitt 1

The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1

The Canadian pianist’s recordings of Bach are held up as benchmarks for their profound insight. The first of two concerts.

12 August 2019

Europa Galante & Fabio Biondi

The Italian period instrument Baroque orchestra journey through four of Mozart’s youthful string quartets and forgotten gems by Italian composer Carlo Monza.

10 August 2019

Maxim Emelyanychev & Principals of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

The Russian conductor and pianist is joined by the SCO’s principal players for a Romantic recital of Brahms, Dohnányi and Schumann.

12 August 2019