Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.
Ian Mc Kellen On Stage © Oliver Rosser Feast Creative Photo: Oliver Rosser Feast Creative

Ian McKellen On Stage

With Tolkien, Shakespeare, Others and You

From Tolkien’s Gandalf to Shakespeare, Sir Ian performs extracts from his best-loved roles, as well as recalling seminal moments from his life and career.

See times and book tickets

Sir Ian McKellen celebrates his 80th birthday with an ambitious, 80-date tour across the UK — stopping off for four very special performances in Edinburgh’s Assembly Hall, the venue for his landmark first appearances at the International Festival 50 years ago.

From Tolkien’s Gandalf to Shakespeare, Sir Ian performs extracts from his best-loved roles, as well as recalling seminal moments from his life and career. 

All profits from the tour will be used to support regional theatres and local drama provision. In Edinburgh, proceeds will support a bursary for an Edinburgh resident to study performance, as well as contributing to the refurbishment of the Drama Studio at Leith Academy, as part of the International Festival’s residency partnership with the school.

Restricted View ticket holders will enter the Assembly Hall in a second wave after General Admission ticket holders have taken their seats. Restricted View ticket holders will then be able to fill the remaining seats, some of which will have a restricted view of the stage.
Booking information
Limited to 4 tickets per customer

Presented by Ian McKellen and Ambassador Theatre Group


More information about the artist:

Ian McKellen 
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

22-25 August 2019

All tickets
£40
People with access needs
Free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

You might also be interested in

Mythos: Heroes

A Trilogy by Stephen Fry

Adapted from his best-selling book, Stephen Fry brings to brilliant life the gods, monsters and mortals of ancient Greece.

20-25 August 2019

Call and Response: So Many Reasons

Racheal Ofori / Zoe Lafferty / Fuel

A series of performances to explore the ideas in You Are Here and encourage audiences to join the conversation. 

19-21 August 2019

Peter Gynt

National Theatre of Great Britain / David Hare / Jonathan Kent

Scottish star James McArdle takes the challenging title role in a raucous reboot of Ibsen’s epic play.

1-10 August 2019

This Liquid Earth: A Eulogy in Verse by Amy Jephta - play reading

Royal Court Theatre's International Playwrights Programme

 A series of new short plays written by emerging international writers.

15 August 2019