Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Angela Hewitt 2

The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 2

The Canadian pianist is revered above all for her performances of Bach. The second of two concerts.

See times and book tickets

Remarkable Canadian pianist Angela Hewitt is revered above all for her performances of Bach, digging deep into his gloriously complex works with spontaneity and dance-like grace. Her extensive recordings of his keyboard works are held up as benchmarks for their profound insights and disarming sincerity.

She has twice recorded Bach’s monumental Well-Tempered Clavier – 48 profound explorations of each of the keyboard’s possible tonalities, captured in music of sublime beauty and uncompromising rigour – as well as taking the piece on two epic world tours.

In the second of her two International Festival recitals, Hewitt concludes her traversal of Bach’s monumental work with the tripping dances and pioneering explorations of Book 2.

Buy tickets for both concerts in one transaction and save 20%.

Angela Hewitt Piano

Bach The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 2


More information about the artist:

Angela Hewitt 
FacebookTwitter

14 August 2019

Grand circle
£35 £31
Stalls
£35 £31 £24.50
Upper circle
£20.50 £18.50 £12
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Festival Partner

Joscelyn Fox

Major Sponsor

You might also be interested in

Cuarteto Casals

The Barcelona-based quartet open with the magical radiance of Haydn, followed by the intense emotions of Bartók and close with the grand dramas of Beethoven.

6 August 2019

Forget Me Not

Komische Oper Berlin / Barrie Kosky

Yiddish operetta songs from Warsaw to Broadway

16 August 2019

Maxim Emelyanychev & Principals of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

The Russian conductor and pianist is joined by the SCO’s principal players for a Romantic recital of Brahms, Dohnányi and Schumann.

12 August 2019

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 1

The first in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Aapo Häkkinen and Mahan Esfahani.

13 August 2019