Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Angela Hewitt 1

The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1

The Canadian pianist’s recordings of Bach are held up as benchmarks for their profound insight. The first of two concerts.

See times and book tickets

Remarkable Canadian pianist Angela Hewitt has received global acclaim in a broad range of music – from Mozart and Beethoven through to Liszt, Debussy and Messiaen. Delicacy and transparency combine thrillingly with power and vigour. Her recitals sing and dance, dazzling with their dexterity, yet captivating with their wisdom and joy.

She has twice recorded Bach’s monumental Well-Tempered Clavier – 48 profound explorations of each of the keyboard’s possible tonalities, captured in music of sublime beauty and uncompromising rigour – as well as taking the piece on two epic world tours.

For the first of her two International Festival recitals, Hewitt performs the 24 preludes and fugues of Book 1, launching with the serene, rippling beauty of the opening C major Prelude, cherished the world over.

Buy tickets for both concerts in one transaction and save 20%.

Angela Hewitt Piano

Bach The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1


More information about the artist:

Angela Hewitt 
Facebook | Twitter

12 August 2019

Grand circle
£35 £31
Stalls
£35 £31 £24.50
Upper circle
£20.50 £18.50 £12
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Festival Partner

Joscelyn Fox

You might also be interested in

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 2

The second in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Mahan Esfahani.

15 August 2019

Royal Scottish National Orchestra

Edward Gardner conducts Strauss and MacMillan

Two immensely powerful reflections on our existence, performed by a celebrated International Festival music partnership.

10 August 2019

Sheku Kanneh-Mason & Isata Kanneh-Mason

The winner of 2016’s BBC Young Musician of the Year performs Debussy, Mendelssohn, Fauré and Lutoslawski.

7 August 2019

National Youth Orchestra of the USA

Joyce DiDonato sings Berlioz

Joyce DiDonato joins the NYO USA for the sultry opulence of Berlioz’s six ravishing love songs.

9 August 2019