Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.
Barrie Kosky © Jan Windszus 6

Forget Me Not

Komische Oper Berlin / Barrie Kosky

Yiddish operetta songs from Warsaw to Broadway

See times and book tickets

In the company of Barrie Kosky, Artistic Director of Komische Oper Berlin, and singers Alma Sadé and Helene Schneiderman, step back into the tragedy and tongue-in-cheek wit of a forgotten genre: Yiddish operetta. Born among Jewish communities in 19th-century Eastern Europe, Yiddish operetta developed a distinctive repertoire and style all its own. It became the music of a people deprived and oppressed, then crossed the Atlantic to take New York by storm in the 1880s.

Drawing on stage works and films from the 1880s to the 1930s, Kosky has assembled Forget Me Not, a beguiling collection of sensuous songs by star authors and composers from Eastern Europe, including Joseph Rumshinsky, Alexander Olshanetsky, Sholom Secunda and the ‘Yiddish Shakespeare’ Abraham Goldfaden.

Kosky leads this intimate soirée toasting these barely known masterpieces — a memorial to creators lost in the Holocaust and earlier pogroms, and a blazing celebration of the richness of Jewish culture.

Download the programme here

Language
Sung in Yiddish with English supertitles

Barrie Kosky Artistic Director of Komische Oper Berlin
Alma Sadé and Helene Schneiderman Singers

16 August 2019

Dress circle
£25 £20
Stalls
£25 £20
Upper circle
£20
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
Senior citizens (limited availability)
30% off (only available for 10pm performance)
Arts workers employed within Scotland (limited availability)
30% off (only available for 10pm performance)
Registered unemployed (limited availability)
30% off (only available for 10pm performance)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

You might also be interested in

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 3

The third in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Masato Suzuki.

16 August 2019

Manon Lescaut

Donald Runnicles conducts Deutsche Oper Berlin

The powerhouse Scottish conductor brings his company, with an exceptional cast of international soloists, for this vivid concert performance. 

22 August 2019

Los Angeles Philharmonic 1

Mahler: Symphony No 2 ‘Resurrection’

The exceptional orchestra launch the 2019 Usher Hall Series with one of the grandest and most gripping of symphonies.

3 August 2019

Breaking the Waves

Opera Ventures and Scottish Opera

The European premiere of a new opera from Missy Mazzoli and Royce Vavrek adapted from Lars von Trier’s controversial film.

21-24 August 2019