Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. Fill 1 Created with Sketch.

Maxim Emelyanychev & Principals of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

The Russian conductor and pianist is joined by the SCO’s principal players for a Romantic recital of Brahms, Dohnányi and Schumann.

Schumann Adagio and Allegro 
Brahms Trio for clarinet, cello and piano 
Dohnányi Sextet

Russian conductor Maxim Emelyanychev has quickly risen to international prominence with his remarkably agile, fiery music-making. He becomes the Scottish Chamber Orchestra’s new Principal Conductor for the 2019-20 season.

Emelyanychev is equally respected as an athletic, energetic pianist. In this special foretaste of his partnership with the SCO, he is joined by six of the orchestra’s magnificent principal players for a richly Romantic recital contrasting touching sensitivity with uproarious bravura.

Together, Emelyanychev and the SCO players move from the intimacy and warmth of Brahms’s Clarinet Trio to the orchestral-scale virtuosity of Dohnányi’s high-spirited Sextet, by way of the optimistic good cheer of Schumann’s bright Adagio and Allegro for horn and piano.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Maxim Emelyanychev Piano
Maximiliano Martín Clarinet
Alec Frank-Gemmill Horn
Benjamin Marquise Gilmore Violin
Fiona Winning Viola
Philip Higham Cello

Schumann Adagio and Allegro 
Brahms Trio for clarinet, cello and piano
Dohnányi Sextet

More information about some of the artists:

Maxim Emelyanychev
Facebook | Instagram 

Maximiliano Martín 

Alec Frank-Gemmill

12 August 2019

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2020 programme will be announced in the spring.