Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Maxim Emelyanychev & Principals of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

The Russian conductor and pianist is joined by the SCO’s principal players for a Romantic recital of Brahms, Dohnányi and Schumann.

See times and book tickets

Schumann Adagio and Allegro 
Brahms Trio for clarinet, cello and piano 
Dohnányi Sextet

Russian conductor Maxim Emelyanychev has quickly risen to international prominence with his remarkably agile, fiery music-making. He becomes the Scottish Chamber Orchestra’s new Principal Conductor for the 2019-20 season.

Emelyanychev is equally respected as an athletic, energetic pianist. In this special foretaste of his partnership with the SCO, he is joined by six of the orchestra’s magnificent principal players for a richly Romantic recital contrasting touching sensitivity with uproarious bravura.

Together, Emelyanychev and the SCO players move from the intimacy and warmth of Brahms’s Clarinet Trio to the orchestral-scale virtuosity of Dohnányi’s high-spirited Sextet, by way of the optimistic good cheer of Schumann’s bright Adagio and Allegro for horn and piano.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Maxim Emelyanychev Piano
Maximiliano Martín Clarinet
Alec Frank-Gemmill Horn
Benjamin Marquise Gilmore Violin
Fiona Winning Viola
Philip Higham Cello

Schumann Adagio and Allegro 
Brahms Trio for clarinet, cello and piano
Dohnányi Sextet


More information about some of the artists:

Maxim Emelyanychev
Facebook | Instagram 

Maximiliano Martín 
Twitter

Alec Frank-Gemmill
Facebook

12 August 2019

Centre stalls
£35
Rear stalls
£30 £15 £11
Side stalls
£30 £25 £21 £11
Centre gallery
£35 £30 £25
Side gallery
£25 £15 £11
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
Senior citizens (limited availability)
30% off
Arts workers employed within Scotland (limited availability)
30% off
Registered unemployed (limited availability)
30% off
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

You might also be interested in

Sir James MacMillan at Greyfriars Kirk

The Culham Motets and All the Hills and Vales Along

Christopher Bell conducts Sir James MacMillan’s poignant oratorio written to commemorate the fallen of the First World War.

16 August 2019

Christiane Karg & Gerold Huber

The fast-rising international star of Covent Garden, La Scala and Glyndebourne, performs an all-Schubert programme.

21 August 2019

Amber Wagner & Malcolm Martineau

Programme to include lieder by Strauss, a Song selection by Barber and Bellini, and Wagner’s Wesendonck Lieder. 

14 August 2019

Amatis Piano Trio & friends

A special collaboration between former BBC New Generation Artists to perform two iconic chamber works by Franck and Dvořák.

23 August 2019