Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Elgar's The Kingdom

Hallé and Sir Mark Elder

A much-admired International Festival partnership return with one of Elgar’s greatest, and most neglected, achievements.

See times and book tickets

With a remarkable Siegfried in 2018 and an equally astonishing La damnation de Faust the previous year, Manchester’s Hallé and its Music Director Sir Mark Elder are a much-admired International Festival partnership.

They return with one of Elgar’s greatest, and most neglected, achievements: The Kingdom.

Exploring the lives of the twelve disciples during the Church’s earliest days, Elgar’s final oratorio is shot through with glowing passion and stately serenity. Elder has long been a passionate champion of Elgar’s noble, poignant music, and he and the Hallé are joined by four exceptional vocal soloists and the Edinburgh Festival Chorus for this deeply moving meditation on faith.

Hallé
Sir Mark Elder Conductor

Natalya Romaniw Soprano
Alice Coote Mezzo soprano
Michael Fabiano Tenor
Roderick Williams Baritone

Edinburgh Festival Chorus
Aidan Oliver Chorus Director


More information about some of the artists:

The Sixteen
WebsiteFacebook | Twitter | Instagram

Michael Fabiano 
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

18 August 2019

Grand circle
£48 £38.50
Stalls
£48 £38.50 £29
Upper circle
£27 £20 £15
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Benefactor

Mr Hedley G Wright

Trusts

Risk Charitable Trust and The Elgar Society

You might also be interested in

Shanghai Symphony Orchestra

Dvořák and Shostakovich

China’s premier classical ensemble are joined by the captivating US cellist.

19 August 2019

The Rosary Sonatas: Part III

The Glorious Mysteries

One of the most extraordinary collections of music ever composed, full of fearsome virtuosity and dazzling expressiveness. The final of three concerts.

9 August 2019

Sheku Kanneh-Mason & Isata Kanneh-Mason

The winner of 2016’s BBC Young Musician of the Year performs Debussy, Mendelssohn, Fauré and Lutoslawski.

7 August 2019

Maxim Emelyanychev & Principals of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

The Russian conductor and pianist is joined by the SCO’s principal players for a Romantic recital of Brahms, Dohnányi and Schumann.

12 August 2019