Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Elgar's The Kingdom

Hallé and Martyn Brabbins

The Hallé return with one of Elgar’s greatest, and most neglected, achievements: The Kingdom.

See times and book tickets

After a remarkable Siegfried in 2018 and an equally astonishing La damnation de Faust the previous year, Manchester’s Hallé is an orchestra of extraordinary power. They return with one of Elgar’s greatest, and most neglected, achievements: The Kingdom.

Exploring the lives of the twelve disciples during the Church’s earliest days, Elgar’s final oratorio is shot through with glowing passion and stately serenity. Conductor Martyn Babbins and the Hallé are joined by four exceptional vocal soloists and the Edinburgh Festival Chorus for this deeply moving meditation on faith.

Hallé
Martyn Brabbins Conductor

Natalya Romaniw Soprano
Catherine Wyn-Rogers Mezzo soprano
David Butt Philip Tenor
Roderick Williams Baritone

Edinburgh Festival Chorus
Aidan Oliver Chorus Director


More information about some of the artists:

The Sixteen
WebsiteFacebook | Twitter | Instagra

18 August 2019

Grand circle
£48 £38.50
Stalls
£48 £38.50 £29
Upper circle
£27 £20 £15
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
Senior citizens (limited availability)
30% off
Arts workers employed within Scotland (limited availability)
30% off
Registered unemployed (limited availability)
30% off
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Benefactor

Mr Hedley G Wright

Trusts

Risk Charitable Trust and The Elgar Society

You might also be interested in

Virgin Money Fireworks Concert

with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra

Unforgettable orchestral classics and 400,000 fireworks launched from Edinburgh’s iconic Castle make this one of the biggest fireworks concerts in the world.

26 August 2019

Lawrence Brownlee & Iain Burnside

The US tenor and Scottish-born pianist performs Schumann’s intimate song cycle before a programme of Poulenc, Liszt and Ginastera.

16 August 2019

The Rosary Sonatas: Part III

The Glorious Mysteries

One of the most extraordinary collections of music ever composed, full of fearsome virtuosity and dazzling expressiveness. The final of three concerts.

9 August 2019

Llŷr Williams

A personal selection of Grieg, Liszt and a rarely heard example of Wagner’s own piano music.

9 August 2019