Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Doric String Quartet

The first European performance of Brett Dean’s String Quartet No. 3 "Hidden Agendas" and the soaring melodies of Brahms’ powerful Second String Quintet.

See times and book tickets

Stylish, dazzling, gloriously supple in its evocative playing, the Doric Quartet is one of today’s finest British quartets, and winner of several major international awards.

In this special recital, the four Doric players join forces with distinctive Australian-born composer Brett Dean, celebrated worldwide for his immensely lyrical, richly coloured music. Working alongside the composer, the Doric Quartet gives Dean’s String Quartet No. 3 "Hidden Agendas" its first European performance.

Equally renowned as a violist – and a player in the Berlin Philharmonic for 14 years – Dean himself joins the Doric players for the soaring melodies of Brahms’s powerful, orchestral-scale Second String Quintet to close. To begin, Haydn’s playful ‘Joke’ quartet keeps you guessing as to when it’s really finished.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Doric String Quartet

Brett Dean Viola

Haydn String Quartet Op 33 No 2
Brett Dean String Quartet No. 3 "Hidden Agendas" (European Premiere)*
Brahms String Quintet No 2 in G major Op 111

*Co-commissioned by Edinburgh International Festival and Musica Viva Australia, Konzerthaus Berlin, West Cork Chamber Music Festival, Stichting Strijkkwartet Biënnale Amsterdam and Carnegie Hall.


More information about some of the artists:

Doric String Quartet
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Brett Dean
Facebook | Twitter 

20 August 2019

Centre stalls
£35
Rear stalls
£30 £15 £11
Side stalls
£30 £25 £21 £11
Centre gallery
£35 £30 £25
Side gallery
£25 £15 £11
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
Senior citizens (limited availability)
30% off
Arts workers employed within Scotland (limited availability)
30% off
Registered unemployed (limited availability)
30% off
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Festival Partners

Donald and Louise MacDonald

You might also be interested in

Christiane Karg & Gerold Huber

The fast-rising international star of Covent Garden, La Scala and Glyndebourne, performs an all-Schubert programme.

21 August 2019

Lars Vogt (replacing Jeremy Denk)

Lars Vogt replaces Jeremy Denk for a programme of Brahms, Janacek and Beethoven. 

19 August 2019

Andreas Ottensamer & Yuja Wang

The Berlin Philharmonic’s principal clarinettist and the Chinese piano sensation launch The Queen’s Hall series in spectacular style.

3 August 2019

Orchestre de Paris 1

Berlioz and Beethoven

Berlioz’s colourful, Byron-inspired tour of Italy and Beethoven’s radiant musical tribute to the natural world.

23 August 2019