Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

BBC Symphony Orchestra

Semyon Bychkov conducts Mahler and Shostakovich

Mahler's bright and sunny Fourth Symphony is paired with Shostakovich’s witty, incisive Second Piano Concerto.

See times and book tickets

Shostakovich Piano Concerto No 2 
Mahler Symphony No 4

From a dance with the devil to a child’s awestruck view of heaven – Mahler’s Fourth is his shortest, sunniest symphony. But despite its rustic charm and its joyful evocations, its surface sheen conceals turbulent inner dramas, which pack a mighty emotional punch.

Christina Gansch joins the BBC Symphony Orchestra for this magical work, with conductor Semyon Bychkov – much admired for his compelling energy and his exquisite poise – on the podium.

Russian-born US pianist Kirill Gerstein, one of today’s most spellbinding players, brings his incisive brilliance to Shostakovich’s mischievously witty Second Piano Concerto.

This concert will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 at a future date.

BBC Symphony Orchestra 
Semyon Bychkov Conductor

Christina Gansch Soprano 
Kirill Gerstein Piano

Shostakovich Piano Concerto No 2 
Mahler Symphony No 4


More information about some of the artists:

BBC Symphony Orchestra
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Semyon Bychkov 
Facebook

Christina Gansch
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Kirill Gerstein
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram


13 August 2019

Grand circle
£48 £38.50
Stalls
£48 £38.50 £29
Upper circle
£27 £20 £15
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Sponsor

Supported by

You might also be interested in

Dunedin Consort

The Queen’s Hall series comes to a gloriously theatrical close, in two larger-than-life secular cantatas, some of Bach’s most opulent, joyfully inventive music.

24 August 2019

Doric String Quartet

The first European performance of Brett Dean’s String Quartet No. 3 "Hidden Agendas" and the soaring melodies of Brahms’ powerful Second String Quintet.

20 August 2019

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 4

The fourth in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Christine Schornsheim and Andreas Staier.

19 August 2019

Orfeo ed Euridice

The English Concert and Bernard Labadie

World-renowned British countertenor Iestyn Davies performs one of the most powerful love stories in all of opera.

15 August 2019