Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 5

The fifth in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Richard Egarr and Diego Ares.

See times and book tickets

Bach Concerto in E major BWV 1053
Concerto in D minor for two harpsichords BWV 1062

A charismatic, captivating musician, Richard Egarr – currently Music Director of the Academy of Ancient Music, and a regular and much-loved International Festival visitor – imbues all he performs with a sense of joy, adventure and searching intellect.

He’s joined by fast-rising young Spanish harpsichordist Diego Ares in the fifth of the International Festival’s six-concert survey of J S Bach’s complete keyboard concertos, from the sparkling athleticism of the Concerto in E BWV 1053, to the catchy melodies and infectious energy of the Concerto in D minor BWV 1062, by way of works for solo keyboard.

Five of the concert series’ six events take place in the remarkable surroundings of Edinburgh’s intimate St Cecilia’s Hall – Scotland’s oldest purpose-built concert hall, dating back to 1763. The Hall also houses the University of Edinburgh’s rich collection of historical musical instruments, including an astonishing collection of harpsichords which are featured across these revelatory concerts.

Richard Egarr Harpsichord
Diego Ares Harpsichord
Musicians from the Dunedin Consort

Bach Concerto in E major BWV 1053
Concerto in D minor for two harpsichords BWV 1062

20 August 2019

All tickets
£27

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Festival Partners

Dr. George Sypert and Dr. Joy Arpin

Principal Supporter

You might also be interested in

Dunedin Consort

The Queen’s Hall series comes to a gloriously theatrical close, in two larger-than-life secular cantatas, some of Bach’s most opulent, joyfully inventive music.

24 August 2019

Angela Hewitt 2

The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 2

The Canadian pianist is revered above all for her performances of Bach. The second of two concerts.

14 August 2019

Götterdämmerung

Royal Scottish National Orchestra / Sir Andrew Davis

The fourth and final opera in the Ring cycle is its grandest, as the gods themselves face their doom. 

25 August 2019

West Side Story

Scottish Chamber Orchestra / Sir John Eliot Gardiner

A timeless love story; an electrifying spectacle. Jets versus Sharks. Loosely based on Romeo and Juliet, West Side Story is a cultural phenomenon.

5-6 August 2019