Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 4

The fourth in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Christine Schornsheim and Andreas Staier.

See times and book tickets

Bach Concerto in A major BWV 1055
Concerto in F minor BWV 1056
Concerto in C major for two harpsichords BWV 1061

Two of Germany’s most renowned harpsichordists join the exceptional musicians of Scotland’s Dunedin Consort for the fourth in the International Festival’s major six-concert survey of J S Bach’s complete keyboard concertos.

Both highly respected for their fluency, energy and sparkling keyboard agility, Christine Schornsheim and Andreas Staier perform Bach’s intense A major Concerto BWV 1055, and his poignantly intense F minor Concerto BWV 1056. They come together for the spectacular keyboard interplay of his captivating Concerto in C for two harpsichords.

Five of the concert series’ six events take place in the remarkable surroundings of Edinburgh’s intimate St Cecilia’s Hall – Scotland’s oldest purpose-built concert hall, dating back to 1763. The Hall also houses the University of Edinburgh’s rich collection of historical musical instruments, including an astonishing collection of harpsichords which are featured across these revelatory concerts.

Christine Schornsheim Harpsichord
Andreas Staier Harpsichord
Musicians from the Dunedin Consort

Bach Concerto in A major BWV 1055
Concerto in F minor BWV 1056
Concerto in C major for two harpsichords BWV 1061

19 August 2019

All tickets
£27

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Festival Partners

Dr. George Sypert and Dr. Joy Arpin

Principal Supporter

You might also be interested in

Nash Ensemble

Two glorious chamber classics and the remarkable Fourteen Little Pictures make up the Nash Ensemble’s richly coloured recital.

17 August 2019

The Sixteen

With a repertoire spanning over 500 years of music, the world-renowned choir blends resplendent vocal colour, immaculate technique and irresistible power and passion.

15 August 2019

Aberdeen Standard Investments Opening Event: LA Phil at Tynecastle

Free Outdoor Event

The LA Phil play music from the Golden Age of Hollywood by Korngold, Herrmann, Waxman and a selection by John Williams.

2 August 2019

Christiane Karg & Gerold Huber

The fast-rising international star of Covent Garden, La Scala and Glyndebourne, performs an all-Schubert programme.

21 August 2019