Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. Fill 1 Created with Sketch.

Viktoria Mullova &
Katia Labèque

Play Schumann, Ravel & Prokofiev

A  wonderfully eclectic recital of Schumann, Prokofiev, Takemitsu, Pärt and Ravel from the Russian violinist and the French pianist.

Viktoria Mullova Violin
Katia Labèque Piano

Prokofiev Sonata in D for solo violin Op 115
Schumann Violin Sonata No 1
Takemitsu Distance de fée
Arvo Pärt Fratres
Ravel Violin Sonata in G

Charismatic Russian-born violinist Viktoria Mullova is a world star in classical music, admired as much for her pioneering performances as for her astonishing versatility. Her recitals combine searching intelligence with electrifying virtuosity.

Mullova is joined by the brilliant French pianist Katia Labèque for a typically eclectic recital, rich in opulent melody.

Together they travel from the impulsive freshness of Schumann’s gloriously tuneful First Violin Sonata to the exquisite beauty of Ravel’s jazz- and blues-tinged Violin Sonata, by way of Prokofiev’s easygoing Solo Sonata, the mesmerising serenity of Arvo Pärt, and the sumptuous, Debussyan lyricism of Takemitsu.

Join the Facebook event

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Viktoria Mullova
Website | Facebook | Twitter

Katia Labèque
Website | Twitter

8 August 2018

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2020 programme will be announced in the spring.