Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. Fill 1 Created with Sketch.

Russian National Orchestra 2

Matsuev performs Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No 1

Conductor Kirill Karabits closes the concert with the heavy perfumes and sumptuous atmosphere of Scriabin’s dramatic Second Symphony, combining birdsong and the sounds of nature with swirling colours and fervent melody. 

Karabits opens with the moving Elegy composed by Ukrainian composer Valentin Silvestrov, based around unfinished sketches by his composer father, Ivan Karabits.

This concert will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on Thursday 15 September at 7.30pm 

Please note Mikhail Pletnev will not now perform with the Russian National Orchestra due to an injury to his shoulder. We are extremely grateful to Denis Matsuev who will take his place.

The Russian National Orchestra is a fantastic music machine.... seamlessly textured, supremely balanced and astoundingly virtuosic.

The Herald

Russian National Orchestra
Kirill Karabits Conductor

Denis Matsuev Piano

Valentin Silvestrov Elegy
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No 1
Scriabin Symphony No 2

More information about some of the artists

Russian National Orchestra

Kirill Karabits

Denis Matsuev

21 August 2016

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2020 programme will be announced in the spring.