Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. Fill 1 Created with Sketch.

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra 02

Nicola Benedetti performs Glazunov

Celebrated Scottish violinist Nicola Benedetti joins the Oslo Philharmonic and Vasily Petrenko for their second Festival concert, playing the brilliant and unashamedly Romantic Violin Concerto by Glazunov. 

Vasily Petrenko Conductor

Nicola Benedetti Violin

Geirr Tveitt Selection of pieces from 100 Folk Tunes from Hardanger
Glazunov Violin Concerto
Sibelius Symphony No 1

It was one of the first concertos that Benedetti performed as a professional violinist, and its poignantly beautiful melodies and fiery virtuosity still hold a special place in her repertoire.

Sibelius’s passionate First Symphony has drawn comparisons with Tchaikovsky’s ‘Pathétique’ Symphony through its voluptuous melodies and high drama, but in the work, the Finnish composer conjures an evocative, expansive sound world all his own. The Oslo players and Petrenko open the concert with music from their Norwegian homeland, in a selection from Geirr Tveitt’s colourful reimaginings of folk tunes from the fjords and mountains of western Norway.

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko
Nicola Benedetti Violin

Geirr Tveitt Selection of pieces from 100 Folk Tunes from Hardanger
Glazunov Violin Concerto
Sibelius Symphony No 1


Find out more about Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra

Twitter: @filharmonien

Facebook: Oslo-Filharmonien

Instagram: filharmonien


Find out more about Nicola Benedetti

Twitter: @NickyBenedetti

Facebook: NicolaBenedettiViolin

16 August 2015

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book or watch. The 2021 programme will be announced in June.