Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Czech Philharmonic 01

With an illustrious history of performing the rich repertoire of its homeland and a distinctive sound, the Czech Philharmonic brings two concerts of sumptuous music to Festival 2014.

Scottish violinist Nicola Benedetti is the soloist in the extraordinarily lush, romantic Violin Concerto by Erich Korngold, written in Hollywood after the composer fled Nazi-occupied Austria. Before it comes the striking overture to Janáček's final opera From the House of the Dead.

The concert concludes with the radiant Fourth Symphony by Martinů, which is full of glorious tunes and sparkles with optimism.

unbounded lyricism... that only this orchestra can bring

The Guardian

Czech Philharmonic
Conducted by Jiří Bělohlávek

Nicola Benedetti Violin

Janáček Overture – From the House of the Dead
Korngold Violin Concerto
Martinů Symphony No 4

22 August 2014

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2020 programme will be announced in the spring.