Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra 02

The commanding Greek-born violinist Leonidas Kavakos, warmly remembered for his concerto and recital performances at the 2012 Festival, is the soloist in the lyrical Lichtes Spiel by German composer Wolfgang Rihm, a seductive, highly expressive work of languid harmonies and transparent textures.

To begin the concert, Mariss Jansons conducts the endlessly inventive melodies of Brahms's magnificent Variations on a Theme by Haydn.

Believe the hype: great orchestra without equal

The Australia

Kavakos possesses a sound of unrivaled beauty

The New York Times

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Conducted by Mariss Jansons


Leonidas Kavakos Violin

Brahms Variations on a Theme by Haydn
Wolfgang Rihm Lichtes Spiel
Strauss Tod und Verklärung
StraussTill Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche.

28 August 2014

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2020 programme will be announced in the spring.