Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Beyond Zero: 1914–1918

Kronos Quartet

A response in music and film to the conflict that launched a century of war, and a celebration of the power of art to keep us sane and offer us comfort.

Beyond Zero: 1914–1918 brings together three of the world's most pioneering artists: the Kronos Quartet, known for decades for their trailblazing performances and collaborations; acclaimed Serbian composer Aleksandra Vrebalov; and filmmaker Bill Morrison, respected for his work with rare and even partially destroyed archive images.

They come together for a journey through the turmoil of the First World War that combines music and film, matching a web of sounds and music from before, during and after the war with specially created film that draws on rare First World War footage from the Library of Congress, some of which has never been seen before.

Beforehand, in Prelude to the Black Hole, Kronos travels back in time to 1914 to explore some of the music it would have played had it existed then, by iconic Western composers, world musicians and blues artists.

The adventurous Americans have constantly pushed forward the musical boundaries

The Guardian

Kronos Quartet

Aleksandra Vrebalov Composer
Bill Morrison Filmmaker

18 August 2014

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2020 programme will be announced in the spring.