Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

A Mass of Life

The Opening Concert / Frederick Delius / Royal Scottish National Orchestra / Sir Andrew Davis

The Opening Concert presents one of the grandest choral pieces ever written: Delius’s A Mass of Life

Not a mass in any traditional religious sense, the work is instead a glorious choral celebration of positivity, of man’s will to embrace the rich possibilities of life and of our potential for strength, energy, pride and sincerity. Using a text drawn from Nietzsche’s Also sprach Zarathustra, it’s an exceptionally beautiful score and one of Delius’s crowning achievements, with music of huge joy and passion.

Sir Andrew Davis has a reputation second to none in his interpretations of British music, delivering performances full of vivid detail and visceral excitement. He’s joined by four exceptional soloists from Britain, Germany and America, and the massed forces of the Edinburgh Festival Chorus.

A Mass of Life

Frederick Delius

Royal Scottish National Orchestra

Sir Andrew Davis Conductor

Edinburgh Festival Chorus

Christopher Bell Chorus Master

Anna Christy Soprano

Pamela Helen Stephen Mezzo soprano

Robert Murray Tenor

Hanno Müller-Brachmann Bass baritone

10 August 2012

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2019 programme will be available in the spring.