Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

London Philharmonic Orchestra

Tolling Russian bells resound throughout the London Philharmonic Orchestra’s all-Russian programme. 

Rachmaninov’s grand choral symphony The Bells charts a startling journey from birth to death in music of jubilation, passion and redemption. Vladimir Jurowski directs three Russian-born soloists and the Edinburgh Festival Chorus in this moving masterpiece based on verse by Edgar Allan Poe.

The same writer is the inspiration behind the vivid musical storytelling in Myaskovsky’s Silentium, which follows Edison Denisov’s mysterious and impressionistic Bells in the Fog. The colourful Second Concerto for Orchestra by Rodion Shchedrin, named ‘The Chimes’, evokes the bells and powerfully expressive chant of ancient Russia.

London Philharmonic Orchestra 

Vladimir Jurowski Conductor

Tatiana Monogarova Soprano

Sergei Skorokhodov Tenor

Vladimir Chernov Baritone

Edinburgh Festival Chorus

Christopher Bell Chorus Master

Denisov Bells in the Fog

Myaskovsky Silentium

Rodion Shchedrin Concerto for Orchestra No 2 ‘The Chimes’

Rachmaninov The Bells

14 August 2012

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2018 programme is now available to browse online. Click on What's On from the menu to see the full programme.

You might also be interested in

Dover Quartet

Play Haydn, Bartók and Zemlinsky

Winners of the prestigious Banff International String Quartet Competition, this exciting young string ensemble make their International Festival debut.

6 August 2018

Piotr Anderszewski

Beethoven’s Diabelli Variations

The celebrated Polish pianist Piotr Anderszewski performs one of the greatest works of the piano repertoire.

7 August 2018

Viktoria Mullova &
Katia Labèque

Play Schumann, Ravel & Prokofiev

A  wonderfully eclectic recital of Schumann, Prokofiev, Takemitsu, Pärt and Ravel from the Russian violinist and the French pianist.

8 August 2018

Robert Levin

Sonatas by Mozart

The early keyboard pioneer returns to the International Festival with an all-Mozart affair – contrasting some well-loved sonatas with lesser known works.

16 August 2018