Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Orchestre de Paris 1

Berlioz and Beethoven

Berlioz’s colourful, Byron-inspired tour of Italy and Beethoven’s radiant musical tribute to the natural world.

See times and book tickets

Beethoven Symphony No 6
Berlioz 
Harold in Italy 

Intellectual rigour and shattering passion: British conductor Daniel Harding is a remarkable force in European music. A regular International Festival visitor, he has been Music Director of the Orchestre de Paris – arguably France’s flagship orchestra – since 2016. As he nears the end of his fruitful tenure, he brings his orchestra to Edinburgh for two inspirational concerts.

Gloriously supple French viola player Antoine Tamestit is soloist in Berlioz’s colourful, Byron-inspired tour of Italy, from spiritual revelations high in the mountains to a wild orgy of brigands.

Harding concludes his programme with Beethoven’s radiant musical tribute to the natural world, complete with birdsong, bubbling streams, bucolic peasants and a cataclysmic storm.

Orchestre de Paris 
Daniel Harding Conductor

Antoine Tamestit Viola

Beethoven Symphony No 6
Berlioz Harold in Italy 


More information about some of the artists:

Orchestre de Paris
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Daniel Harding
Twitter

Antoine Tamestit
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

23 August 2019

Grand circle
£50 £42
Stalls
£50 £42 £34
Upper circle
£28 £22 £16
Organ gallery
£12.50
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
Senior citizens (limited availability)
30% off
Arts workers employed within Scotland (limited availability)
30% off
Registered unemployed (limited availability)
30% off
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Festival Partner

The Pirie Rankin Charitable Trust

You might also be interested in

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 1

The first in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Aapo Häkkinen and Mahan Esfahani.

13 August 2019

Amber Wagner & Malcolm Martineau

Programme to include lieder by Strauss, a Song selection by Barber and Bellini, and Wagner’s Wesendonck Lieder. 

14 August 2019

Peer Gynt & Glorious Percussion

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Thomas Dausgaard explores Grieg’s exuberant music and Glorious Percussion, an astonishing concerto by composer Sofia Gubaidulina.

8 August 2019

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 2

The second in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Mahan Esfahani.

15 August 2019