Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.
Yuja Wang © Norbert Kniat Dg

Los Angeles Philharmonic 2

Yuja Wang plays John Adams

The LA Phil bring their residency to a stirring conclusion with pieces by Barber, Tchaikovsky and John Adams

See times and book tickets

Barber Adagio
John Adams 
Must the Devil Have All the Good Tunes? (European Premiere)
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 4

The Los Angeles Philharmonic and Gustavo Dudamel bring us right up to date  for the electrifying conclusion to their very special International Festival residency. The diabolical centrepiece of their final concert is a fiery, propulsive new concerto from one of today’s most charismatic, captivating composers – with a brightly shining classical star as soloist.

John Adams wrote his scintillating Must the Devil Have All the Good Tunes? – receiving its first European performance – for the astonishing talents of Chinese piano sensation Yuja Wang, who awed International Festival audiences with two magnificent concerts in 2015.

Dudamel and his remarkable LA musicians open the evening with Barber’s heartbreaking Adagio  and bring their residency to a stirring conclusion with the super-charged emotions of Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony.

Gustavo Dudamel Conductor

Yuja Wang Piano

Barber Adagio
John Adams
Must the Devil Have All the Good Tunes? (European Premiere)
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 4

More information about some of the artists:

Los Angeles Philharmonic
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Gustavo Dudamel
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Yuja Wang
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

4 August 2019

Grand circle
£50 £42
Stalls
£50 £42 £34
Upper circle
£28 £22 £16
Organ gallery
£12.50
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Principal Supporter

Dunard Fund USA

You might also be interested in

Beatrice Rana

A sparkling programme of virtuoso piano showpieces by Chopin, Ravel & Stravinsky. 

5 August 2019

Scottish Chamber Orchestra

MacMillan's Symphony No 5 world premiere

Harry Christophers conducts The Sixteen and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra in the first performance of Sir James MacMillan’s Fifth Symphony.

17 August 2019

Youth Orchestra Los Angeles

YOLA musicians and Gustavo Dudamel invite you to a free ticketed open rehearsal. 

4 August 2019

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 4

The fourth in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Christine Schornsheim and Andreas Staier.

19 August 2019