Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

MacMillan Scottish Premieres

The Scottish composer’s tumultuous Woman of the Apocalypse and the sonic spectacle and riotous fun of A Scotch Bestiary.

See times and book tickets

Sir James MacMillan A Scotch Bestiary
Woman of the Apocalypse

Not only one of the world’s most revered and exceptional composers, Sir James MacMillan is also an immensely popular global figure, creator of music that brings together a thrilling visceral impact, spiritual contemplation and a startling immediacy.

The International Festival celebrates his rich, vibrant music in a major five-concert retrospective for his 60th birthday, bringing together a wealth of first performances – a major world premiere, Symphony No 5 Le grand inconnu, as well as UK and Scottish premieres – and performers who have long collaborated with MacMillan.

In this opening concert, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and brilliant Portuguese conductor Joana Carneiro, are joined by eminent organist Stephen Farr for the sonic spectacle and riotous fun of A Scotch Bestiary, before exploring the intense drama of MacMillan’s virtuosic, kaleidoscopic concerto for orchestra Woman of the Apocalypse.

This concert will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 at a future date.

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Joana Carneiro Conductor

Stephen Farr Organ

Sir James MacMillan A Scotch Bestiary
Woman of the Apocalypse


More information about some of the artists:

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Sir James MacMillan
Facebook

17 August 2019

Grand circle
£24 £20
Stalls
£24 £20 £15
Upper circle
£15 £12 £10
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
Senior citizens (limited availability)
30% off
Arts workers employed within Scotland (limited availability)
30% off
Registered unemployed (limited availability)
30% off
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Project Support

You might also be interested in

Cuarteto Casals

The Barcelona-based quartet open with the magical radiance of Haydn, followed by the intense emotions of Bartók and close with the grand dramas of Beethoven.

6 August 2019

Orchestre de Paris 1

Berlioz and Beethoven

Berlioz’s colourful, Byron-inspired tour of Italy and Beethoven’s radiant musical tribute to the natural world.

23 August 2019

Bach’s Multiple Concertos

The International Festival’s six-concert survey of J S Bach’s complete keyboard concertos comes to a spectacular conclusion in The Queen’s Hall.

22 August 2019

Youth Orchestra Los Angeles with Big Noise Raploch

Musicians from YOLA, Big Noise and Gustavo Dudamel invite you to a free ticketed open rehearsal. 

4 August 2019