Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Bach Keyboard Concertos: Concert 1

The first in a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos by J S Bach performed here by Aapo Häkkinen and Mahan Esfahani.

See times and book tickets

Bach Concerto in D major BWV 1054
Suite in E flat BWV 819
Fantasia in C minor BWV 906
Concerto in C minor for two harpsichords BWV 1060

Some of today’s finest harpsichordists join forces with the exceptional players of Scotland’s Dunedin Consort for a major, six-part International Festival concert series, exploring the complete keyboard concertos – for one, two, three and four harpsichords – by J S Bach.

Five of the concerts take place in the remarkable surroundings of Edinburgh’s intimate St Cecilia’s Hall – Scotland’s oldest purpose-built concert hall, dating back to 1763. The Hall also houses the University of Edinburgh’s rich collection of historical musical instruments, including an astonishing collection of harpsichords which are featured across these concerts.

This first concert brings together distinctive Finnish harpsichordist Aapo Häkkinen and the Iranian-American musician Mahan Esfahani, who delighted listeners at International Festival 2017, in Bach’s jubilant Concerto in D and his lyrical, graceful Double Concerto in C minor, alongside two deeply expressive works for solo keyboard.

Aapo Häkkinen Harpsichord
Mahan Esfahani Harpsichord
Musicians from the Dunedin Consort

Bach Concerto in D major BWV 1054
Suite in E flat BWV 819
Fantasia in C minor BWV 906
Concerto in C minor for two harpsichords BWV 1060


More information about some of the artists:

Mahan Esfahani
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

13 August 2019

All tickets
£27

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 6 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Festival Partners

Dr. George Sypert and Dr. Joy Arpin

Principal Supporter

You might also be interested in

Andreas Ottensamer & Yuja Wang

The Berlin Philharmonic’s principal clarinettist and the Chinese piano sensation launch The Queen’s Hall series in spectacular style.

3 August 2019

Nash Ensemble

Two glorious chamber classics and the remarkable Fourteen Little Pictures make up the Nash Ensemble’s richly coloured recital.

17 August 2019

Cuarteto Casals

The Barcelona-based quartet open with the magical radiance of Haydn, followed by the intense emotions of Bartók and close with the grand dramas of Beethoven.

6 August 2019

Götterdämmerung

Royal Scottish National Orchestra / Sir Andrew Davis

The fourth and final opera in the Ring cycle is its grandest, as the gods themselves face their doom. 

25 August 2019