Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. Fill 1 Created with Sketch.

Amatis Piano Trio & friends

A special collaboration between former BBC New Generation Artists to perform two iconic chamber works by Franck and Dvořák.

Franck Piano Quintet
Dvořák Piano Quintet No 2 Op 81

The Netherlands-based Amatis Trio is one of the leading chamber groups of its generation, formed as recently as 2014 but exalted worldwide for its energy, its insight and its infectious enthusiasm.

Formerly members of the prestigious BBC New Generation Artists project, the Amatis players are joined by two NGA colleagues – Ukrainian violinist Aleksey Semenenko and Norwegian violist Eivind Ringstad – in two iconic chamber works.

Franck’s Piano Quintet is a work of torrid emotional power, an explosion of emotion that sweeps its listeners up in its unstoppable, intense drama. Dvořák’s Piano Quintet, by contrast, whirls with Bohemian dance rhythms and effortless, unforgettable melody, shot through with the irrepressible inspirations of Czech folk music.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Amatis Piano Trio
Aleksey Semenenko Violin
Eivind Ringstad Viola
Sophie Junker Soprano
Jess Dandy Contralto
Samuel Boden Tenor
Nicholas Mulroy Tenor
Dominic Barberi Bass
Matthew Brook Bass Baritone

Franck Piano Quintet
Dvořák Piano Quintet No 2 Op 81

More information about some of the artists:

Amatis Piano Trio
Facebook | Twitter

Aleksey Semenenko

Eivind Ringstad

23 August 2019

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2020 programme will be announced in the spring.