Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch. Fill 1 Created with Sketch.

Mikhail Pletnev

Great Russian pianist in recital

A rare chance to experience an intimate piano recital from a great Russian virtuoso pianist, compelling pianist and respected musical thinker.

Compelling conductor, virtuoso pianist and respected musical thinker, Mikhail Pletnev is an extraordinary all-round musician – and celebrated for his many exceptional past performances at the International Festival.

His all-Rachmaninov recital includes the hugely passionate and rarely performed First Piano Sonata and a wide ranging selection from the playful Fantasy Pieces Op 3, the powerful Preludes Op 23 and the dark Etudes-tableaux Op 39. 

Pletnev is famed for his highly personal and illuminating interpretations: expect to be both charmed and inspired.

This concert was broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Mikhail Pletnev Piano

Rachmaninov Prelude in C sharp minor Op 3 No 2 'Fantasy Pieces'
Rachmaninov Elégie Op 3 No 1 'Fantasy Pieces'
Rachmaninov Pulcinella Op 3 No 4 'Fantasy Pieces'
Rachmaninov Barcarolle in G minor Op 10 No 3 'Morceaux de salon'
Rachmaninov Humoresque in G major Op 10 No 5 'Morceaux de salon'
Rachmaninov Prelude in B flat major Op 23 No 2 'Maestoso'
Rachmaninov Prelude in D major Op 23 No 4 'Andante Cantabile'
Rachmaninov Prelude in C minor Op 23 No 7 'Allegro'
Rachmaninov Prelude in G minor Op 23 No 5 'Alla marcia'
Rachmaninov Prelude in A minor Op 32 No 8
Rachmaninov Prelude in G sharp minor Op 32 No 12
Rachmaninov Etude-tableau in C minor Op 39 No 7
Rachmaninov Sonata no. 1 in D minor Op 28

More information about the artist

Mikhail Pletnev

9 August 2017

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book. The 2020 programme will be announced in the spring.