Created with Sketch. Artboard Created with Sketch. Created with Sketch.

Cuarteto Casals

The Barcelona-based quartet open with the magical radiance of Haydn, followed by the intense emotions of Bartók and close with the grand dramas of Beethoven.

See times and book tickets

Haydn String Quartet in C major Op 33 No 3 ‘Bird’
Bartók String Quartet No 3
Beethoven Quartet in F major Op 59 No 1 ‘Razumovsky’

With its astonishingly fresh, sometimes surprising performances, the Cuarteto Casals has quickly established itself as one of the world’s most compelling younger chamber ensembles – and one of the most respected. Blending passionate expressiveness with elegant sophistication, the Barcelona-based players bring immaculate technique to their searching, searing insights.

They have focused strongly on the exhilarating quartets of Beethoven throughout their career and they close their wide-ranging International Festival recital with the grand dramas and hearty good humour of his final ‘Razumovsky’ quartet.

They open with the magical radiance and avian inspirations of Haydn’s witty ‘Bird’ Quartet. In between, the intense emotions of Bartók’s brief but punchy Third Quartet.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Cuarteto Casals

Haydn String Quartet in C major Op 33 No 3 ‘Bird’
Bartók String Quartet No 3
Beethoven Quartet in F major Op 59 No 1 ‘Razumovsky’

More information about the artists:

Cuarteto Casals
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram 

6 August 2019

Centre stalls
£35
Rear stalls
£30 £15 £11
Side stalls
£30 £25 £21 £11
Centre gallery
£35 £30 £25
Side gallery
£25 £15 £11
Under 18s
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Young Scot Card holder
50% off (not available on top price tickets)
Under 26
25% off (not available on top price tickets)
Senior citizens (limited availability)
30% off
Arts workers employed within Scotland (limited availability)
30% off
Registered unemployed (limited availability)
30% off
People with access needs
Lowest (unrestricted view) price & free essential companion

* A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £5, will be added to all bookings. If you choose to receive your tickets in the post, you will be charged £1 for postage.

Ticket prices may vary from previously published prices. Discounts are subject to availability.

People with access needs can buy a seat in the area of the venue most appropriate for their needs for the lowest (unrestricted view) ticket price for that performance. Your essential companion's ticket will be free. Access discounts are only available by phone, in person or by using SignLive to allow us to provide you with the best possible service for your needs.

Book Now

Friday 2 August

Choose another date

Saturday 3 August

Choose another date

Sunday 4 August

Choose another date

Monday 5 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 7 August

Choose another date

Thursday 8 August

Choose another date

Friday 9 August

Choose another date

Saturday 10 August

Choose another date

Sunday 11 August

Choose another date

Monday 12 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 13 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 14 August

Choose another date

Thursday 15 August

Choose another date

Friday 16 August

Choose another date

Saturday 17 August

Choose another date

Sunday 18 August

Choose another date

Monday 19 August

Choose another date

Tuesday 20 August

Choose another date

Wednesday 21 August

Choose another date

Thursday 22 August

Choose another date

Friday 23 August

Choose another date

Saturday 24 August

Choose another date

Sunday 25 August

Choose another date

Monday 26 August

Choose another date

With thanks to our supporters

Benefactors

Niall and Carol Lothian

You might also be interested in

Götterdämmerung

Royal Scottish National Orchestra / Sir Andrew Davis

The fourth and final opera in the Ring cycle is its grandest, as the gods themselves face their doom. 

25 August 2019

Sir James MacMillan at Greyfriars Kirk

The Culham Motets and All the Hills and Vales Along

Christopher Bell conducts Sir James MacMillan’s poignant oratorio written to commemorate the fallen of the First World War.

16 August 2019

Elgar's The Kingdom

Hallé and Martyn Brabbins

The Hallé return with one of Elgar’s greatest, and most neglected, achievements: The Kingdom.

18 August 2019

The Rosary Sonatas: Part III

The Glorious Mysteries

One of the most extraordinary collections of music ever composed, full of fearsome virtuosity and dazzling expressiveness. The final of three concerts.

9 August 2019