You are here

Kronos Quartet

Tuesday 19 August 2014

Philip Glass String Quartet No 6
Clint Mansell Music from The Fountain and Requiem for a Dream

Celebrating its 40th anniversary, the Kronos Quartet has commissioned and performed more than 800 new works, as well as collaborated with a rich collection of global musicians.

To complement its film project Beyond Zero: 1914–1918, it gives a special recital focusing on its collaborations with two artists whose work spans both classical and popular culture.

Philip Glass has collaborated with the Kronos players since the 1970s. His String Quartet No 6, written for and premiered by Kronos last year, is a hugely powerful work, dark and brooding in places.

Clint Mansell is the former lead singer of alternative rock band Pop Will Eat Itself, and as a composer has scored several films by the acclaimed director Darren Aronofsky. Kronos performs Mansell's music from Aronofsky's The Fountain and the cult classic Requiem for a Dream.


The Guardian

The Kronos Quartet doesn't just give a performance, it puts on a show

The Herald, Festval 2010

Join the Facebook event for updates and conversation
  • Running time: 
    1 hour and 50 minutes approximately

Supported by logo



Kronos Quartet

Philip Glass String Quartet No 6
Clint Mansell Music from The Fountain and Requiem for a Dream

Photo: Jay Blakesberg

This event was part of a previous International Festival and is therefore unavailable to book.

The 2017 International Festival programme will be announced on Wed 15 March. Tickets will go on sale to everyone on Sat 25 March.


Grand circle: £34 £26 £16
Stalls: £34 £26 £20
Upper circle: £20 £16 £10

Current discounts

Kronos Quartet multibuy: 20% off
Under 18s: 50% off
Students: 50% off
Young Scot cardholders: 50% off
Senior citizens: 50% off
Unemployed people: 50% off
Equity/MU cardholders: 50% off