You are here

Nikolai Lugansky Piano

Supported by Joscelyn Fox

Tuesday 13 August
  • Running time: 
    1 hour, 45 minutes

Moscow-born pianist Nikolai Lugansky has been praised for both the reflective poetry and the blazing virtuosity of his commanding performances, and he explores both of these qualities in his wideranging recital.

Admired as one of the world’s foremost Rachmaninov interpreters, Lugansky tackles a selection of the composer’s sometimes volcanic Études-tableaux, considered to be among the most challenging music in the piano repertoire.

His recital reaches a climax with Liszt’s sparkling water poemLes jeux d’eau à la Villa d’Este and the same composer’s brilliantly virtuosic solo-piano arrangement of one of the grandest moments in all Wagner’s operas.

In the first half, Lugansky contrasts the melancholy impressionism of Janácek’s suite In the Mists with four of Schubert’s intensely lyrical œimpromptus.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

The Queen's Hall

85-89 Clerk Street

Supported by
Joscelyn Fox



Nikolai Lugansky Piano

In the Mists

Four Impromptus D935

Étude-tableau in C Op 33 No 2
Étude-tableau in D minor Op 33 No 5
Étude-tableau in B minor Op 39 No 4
Étude-tableau in E flat minor Op 39 No 5
Étude-tableau in A minor Op 39 No 6

Les jeux d'eau à la Villa d'Este

Isolde's Liebestod (arr. Liszt)

Image: Radu Tuta

This event was part of a previous Festival and is therefore unavailable to book.

The Festival 2014 programme is now live. Visit the events block to find out more.